Skip navigation

So, yeah… no challenges from the readers. I got a couple of suggestions for posts, but they were more like research assignments than challenges. As such, I’m not entirely sure what to post about this week. Well, random anime rambling GO.

So, I’ve been watching a lot of Ao no Exorcist. I’m enjoying it. Fairly standard stuff, but entertaining to watch. It hasn’t gotten all shonen-pretentious on me… if anything, it is taking itself less seriously as time goes on, though that could just be the filler talking. I’m interested to see what will happen when the plot eventually kicks in, right now they’ve taken the first season or so establishing characters. I’m fine with that, though, nothing better than well-developed characters, be it for romance, death, pain, tragedy or comedy. Now that I have a sense of who these people are, maybe I’ll care about them. That being said… I don’t have a sense of who some of these people are. FREAKING HELL, PUPPET GUY AND GAMER HOODIE! When will you background fellas gain relevance?!

I’ve also been trying new abridged anime. While Team Fourstar’s Dragonball Z Abridged and LittleKuriboh’s Yu-gi-oh! and Naruto Abridged are still just the absolute BEST, I thought this one deserved some praise. Code MENT, an abridged version of Code Geass, is actually pretty funny. The first episode has a few problems, but for the most part it does a great job in pointing out the MASSIVE plot-holes and problems with the original version. The second episode is great stuff, the forced exposition started raising my warning flags in the actual anime… but in the abridged version, it almost comes off as a joke. If I hadn’t watched the actual show, I’d swear he was making this stuff up. While I’d never recommend Code Geass to any living being, Code MENT is decent. It isn’t Yugioh abridged… but it is decent.

I’ve recently started reading the History’s Strongest Disciple Kenichi manga, trying to catch up to where the anime left off and see what happens after. If you haven’t seen Kenichi yet, I’d recommend it highly. It has a very interesting dynamic that is pretty unique in the shonen fighting-anime world. Most battle anime focus on the fighting and, whenever training comes up, they show the beginning of the training and then montage or skip to the end. Kenichi, on the other hand, seems to focus mostly on the training. The main character grows in strength because he puts in hours and hours of hard work and determination. Because of this, the fights generally tend to be rather short. It makes his accomplishments actually feel more… accomplished! In a normal shonen show, when the main character has off-screen training, we need the upcoming battle to prove to us that he has gotten stronger… but, since we didn’t really use the training time to establish dramatic tension, that requires him getting his butt kicked for the first half of the fight before unleashing his “new technique”. Kenichi, on the other hand, will unleash that new technique first thing out of the gate. Bam. This is what I learned in school today. It is like he doesn’t WANT to be beaten near-to-death to have his power level go up!

Imagine that.

So, yeah. Nothing major going on in the anime department right now… OH, by the way:

I picked up Legend of Mana on the playstation network today. If you haven’t ever played this game, let me tell you, it is beautiful, wonderful and sad. It is a great example of a RPG that does its storytelling through tiny insights rather than massive exposition. There are some seriously iconic music tracks that took me back the moment I heard them, gameplay is fun and engaging, everything is beautiful, and there is serious DEPTH in the crafting, pet raising and fruit growing. If you haven’t tried this one, or if you fear scratching your black-label version, pick up a copy on the PSN for six bucks. I guarantee quality.

4 Comments

  1. Fine. A challenge then.
    Prove Gendo Ikari was a good father. You can only use information from the show (director’s cut is ok), script notes, and the Death and Rebirth movies.

    • Who is Gendo Ikari? This is just some trick to get me to watch that damned series all the way through… and it is the best one I’ve gotten yet.

  2. Somewhat late, but – challenge.

    We’ve seen your TOP anime harem way back when. Lets see the inverse. What 5 characters would you absolutely never put in there, and why?

    • Oh… oh god. That IS a good one… I’ll have to think LONG and HARD about my hatedom… they should probably be girls that you’d think would be good ideas, too…. hmmm… yes… YES… I’ll get on it!


Leave a Reply

