Skip navigation

Okay, so a while back, when I was talking about new anime of the season, I briefly touched on Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko. I gave it kind of a wishy-washy “well, watch it if you want to, I mean I’m not going to force you or anything, I’m not an anime cop, I’m barely an anime critic” kind of review. Okay, forget that. Tear it up, toss it to the wind, read what I am writing now.

You will watch this anime and you will like it or, so help me, I will use more bold text on this website.


Yeah, really!

You know how a lot of slice of life anime sell themselves on being believable stories about average folk? Well this one is a interesting story about not-so average folk. It actually is very charming once you get past the first couple of episodes. I was having trouble following it, originally, but around episode 4 or 5, it really kicked into gear. They got some more characters out there, branching away from Erio the crazy futon girl. After a while, I found myself rooting for a romance in a harem anime that didn’t try to sell itself solely on harem-value. I found myself really adoring the little hangups the different characters had. After all what person doesn’t have a quirk or two, right?

Let us take, for instance, the main character. I hadn’t really gotten much chance to really know him in the first couple of episodes. I slated him as a sort of bland everyman boring main character. That is only partly true, however. He IS a everyman maincharacter, that helps foil his crazy cousin in the first couple of episodes… but this man isn’t boring or bland. Frankly, the dude is downright awesome. Did you like Kyon in Haruhi? (Rhetorical question. Of course you did.) Well, this guy is a similar sort of fellow. He reacts as sanely as any pubescent Japanese boy would in an odd situation. The best part, though, is that he really doesn’t want odd situations. He wants a standard, happy, youth that he can fondly look back on without too many awkward memories. As such, he has invented a series of Puberty Points he can assign to various happenings based on how ideal or positive they are for his happy youth. Talk to a cute classmate girl? +1 point. Get embarrassed in front of the girl you like? -2 points. At the end of every episode, his points get totaled up and we get read his current running total. If someone is really loved by the gods, they can accumulate 20 points in the 3 years of high school. With this, you can see just how important a healthy and youthful high school life is to him.

So far, it is actually one of the anime I’m following closest this season. That is odd, considering I’d given up on it only weeks ago! Do you know what brought me back? The DARN CATCHY INTRO MUSIC. I got the opening theme song stuck in my head because it is so awesome… and I just had to come back for another episode. I mean, if I’m watching the opening sequence, I might as well watch the next bit of story, right? It is only fair to the people who worked so hard on the opening sequence, after all… and bit by bit, I found myself growing enthralled. So, where I previously encouraged you to try it and see if you liked it, I now encourage you to try it UNTIL you like it. I’m sorry, I should have told you earlier.

Now, dear readers, I have a bold and daring announcement! I was looking through my older posts the other day, checking to see what youtube clips were still alive, when I noticed something. Two of my favorite articles were based on reader questions or reader challenges! I’m talking about the ever-popular Tom’s Anime Harem: The Top 5 Females and Tom’s RPG Party. Both of those articles came out of an interaction with a fellow anime fan. As such, I would like you, the readers, to ask me a question or give me a challenge. Anything. Ask me my favorites, my least favorites, who I would pair with who, what I would verb with noun! Bring it on, community, send me the thing that I hadn’t thought of that gets me thinking! Think you can do it? I know you can!

2 Comments

  1. A list of things to review.

    Gankutsuou – Not just the anime, but of anime’s that spawn from classic literature in general would also be cool
    Genshiken – If you haven’t reviewed the anime that is about anime clubs and otaku lifestyle then there is something wrong with you
    Kino’s Journey – There’s a lot of cool philosophical discussions for this one. Try it if you haven’t watched it.

    That’s about all from decent things I’ve seen. I really don’t know about a challenge though.

  2. Review animes that are based off of manga. Or more specifically: one (or more) anime that does things differently from the manga and are good because of it, and then one (or more) that closely follows the manga but suffers for it.


Leave a Reply

