Skip navigation

The new season is on and I haven’t had a chance to watch everything… there just aren’t enough hours in the day. I have, however, had a chance to try a few new ones… I thought that this week I’d offer first impressions. Since most of them don’t even have a second episode, it is far too soon for me to offer any sort decent estimate of an anime’s quality… but the first episodes have certainly given me something to think about.

Torkio: This one seems like a good, old-fashioned silly show about ridiculous manliness and finding tasty foods. I honestly couldn’t have thought of a better way for it to start, either. A crossover special with One Piece! It gave  me plenty of opportunity to learn about the main character, his sidekick and a quick cameo from his friends. It was exactly what a crossover should be. A plausible meeting, both parties got plenty of time to shine and show their stuff and it didn’t try to force itself into cannon. Toriko was enjoyable and light. I don’t expect too very much out of it in terms of drama, but it looks enjoyable.

C: I was rather happy to have discovered C. It has an interesting angle… and I REALLY don’t want to describe it as “kinda like pokemon”… but that is the vibe I’m getting. Basically, money is power… and you can place your future on the line as collateral… in order to get money… but you have to fight against other ‘entrepreneurs’ and their monsters… and the loser commits suicide. It is an interesting premise, I’m curious about how well they will execute it. Visually speaking, though, the anime is VERY sharp. I look forward to following episodes.

Steins;Gate: This one is particularly interesting… It appears to be about time travel… but it isn’t taking a very direct route there. The thing that REALLY interests me about this one is the lens by which we watch this world… appears to be cracked. The main character is clearly insane… or at the very least looney. It brings me back to Welcome to the NHK, in a good way. What happens when an insane man witnesses an impossible event? If everyone thinks you are nuts anyways… who would believe you when you said you saw someone get murdered and then reality rewrote itself? I’m curious to see where they take this plot… but I’m going to watch this one… oh yes.

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko: I take it back. The main character from Steins;Gate isn’t insane. THIS GIRL. This one kinda reminds me of Arakawa Under the Bridge. We have a perfectly reasonable and normal guy… and a nucking futs female to foil him. Similarly, this one TOO is an alien. Though she is trying to decide if the Earth is worth blowing up or capturing… and to avoid contamination, you she stays wrapped inside a rolled-up futon for a lot of the anime… an odd one, to be certain. I’m gonna give it a few more episodes to see if it really grabs me… but I, honestly, am not sure about this one. It is worth a shot, try two episodes and see if it is your thing.

Battle Girls: Time Paradox: Okay… so… this one brought out some strong emotions in me. I remember reading the synopsis and feeling physical pain… but I decided to download it… Now, I’m a big fan of Oda Nobunaga… I just love the man. The basic plot of this anime is that a girl named Hideyoshi gets transported from modern-day Japan to an alternate world with nothing but women… and it is exactly like the warring states period. Okay… tough pill to swallow, but lets start the episode and… WHAT ARE THEY WEARING?! NO! PLEASE DON’T TELL ME THAT SHE IS NOBUNAGA!? Ouch… it hurt so badly… but… I persevered… and then they started talking. Nobunaga quickly became my favorite character! I actually began to enjoy the series because, darn it, she acts like Nobunaga! Sure, her armor is highly impractical… but she is on a quest to find a better set of armor! And unite the country! It sort of feels like your other “person gets sent through time to a period that may or may not be Arthurian England” stories… but it is actually sort of charming. THIS is what last season’s Samurai Girls should have been… and, you know… despite the costumes… I’m not actually seeing that much fanservice. I’m two episodes in and Nobunaga alone will carry me onwards, unless they make her do something very un-nobunaga-like… good thing I wasn’t too fond of Mitsuhide.

I will watch more and post about them, as well as update you on any really good or really bad turns these ones take. Good continuing anime this season so far include The World God Only Knows, Kaiji and, of course, One Piece. One Piece is always a winner.

Leave a Reply

