Skip navigation


So, the new season is upon us and the old season is over… and there were disappointments. The last episode of an anime is something that leaves a lasting impression of the show as a whole. Since the audience doesn’t get another episode, they will often think of the last one they saw when talking about that anime in the future! If you had asked me about either of my key offenders two weeks ago, I would have said they were decent shows… The last episode, however, is the place where decent shows either transcend or get discarded. Welcome to the garbage bin.

First up, Onii-chan no Koto Nanka Zenzen Suki Janain Dakara ne!!… the anime whose name I will never again type after this post. Heck, I just noticed that I misspelled Dakara in the tag the first time I talked about it… and I just can’t be bothered enough to fix that.  This anime was funny, yeah… but at the end of the day, it is just another harem show. I saw hope in its genre-savvy ecchiness… but no. You know what happened the last episode? The same thing that happened every other episode. No closure. No meaning. No depth. The same. Old. Routines. After you have seen the same sort of harem bickering and interactions… you begin to gain a sort of clairvoyance. You begin to see ahead half a minute…. hey, hot soup and two bickering girls… bet that is going to hit his crotch… called it… IT GETS DULL! I originally thought from the first few episodes that Onii-etc would be different. I mean… we had the not-a-blood-sister… the “childhood sexfriend”… there were setup points… but it was just the same-old same-old… There are some shows so interesting that you can forgive a “nothing really happens” ending… this was not one of them.

Actually, quick side note… the “nothing really happens” ending is entirely different from the “life goes on” ending. The first one maintains a status quo in hopes for more seasons. The second says that this continues, but that this continuing is only a natural extension of us, as the audience, having only a brief time with the characters. If the “life goes on” ending gets a second season, we REJOICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (See Genshiken 2, School Rumble 2 (but not 3) and Arakawa Under the Bridge) But… if a “nothing really happens” anime gets another season… you see more of the same old same-old. If Onii-etc got another season… I wouldn’t pick it up. Not unless someone told me that he made a freaking choice and married one! ..not that most harem anime do that, out of fear of losing fanfiction-based audience. (Tenchi Muyo GXP goes the other way, though. ^_^)

The other major headscratcher was Kore wa Zombie desu ka? I’m… not entirely sure the anime had an end… I mean… suddenly, someone pulled the drama tag and there were super-powered beings… and one of the better harem choices was going to explode because she had a fire guy inside her… and… the heck? Plot spaghetti is what we are left with. There is nothing here. This is a miserable pile of shredded hopes and dreams. This isn’t even like Death Note, where it feels like the writer died and was hidden in a closet while his aides tried to figure out where he wanted the story to go… This feels like the author had ideas for a 48 episode anime and wanted to reference each and every arc in as vague and rapid-fire a way as possible… and then return things to their places just in case they get a second season… I haven’t read the manga or the light novels… maybe the pacing is better over there.

I will tell you one thing that didn’t disappoint, though… Tobaku Mokushiroku Kaiji. Kaiji was THE most intense anime about rock-paper-scissors I’ve ever seen. That isn’t a fair description of the show, but it is really hard to sum up the awesomeness in this show about gambling, human nature and bad decisions. When I saw that it had a second season coming, I was so very, very happy. The first episode didn’t disappoint. I heartily recommend its first season to anyone.

I intend to watch some of the new shows this week. By about two weeks from now, I should have a general feeling about a couple of them… hopefully I can find some winners… hopefully.

 

 

 

Kaiji

Leave a Reply

